When in Doubt, Check it Out


baby checkup

Over a week ago, I rushed my baby to the Emergency Room with my husband and mother-in-law.

Baby S has been suffering from intermittent coughing for weeks.  After multiple check-ups with 2 different doctors and a round of antibiotics and other medicines, he was pronounced healthy and it’s simply a viral infection that led to upper respiratory track infection we needed to wait out.  He had a fever but we were told it was nothing to worry about.

Our last check up for the cold was Friday afternoon.

On Saturday, his fever went up even higher with a peak of 39.8.  I was worried because I didn’t like the color and consistency of his mucus.  I felt he was short of breathe but since I wasn’t a doctor, I wasn’t sure.

I was told that it’s the natural course of a viral infection and it will get better after 2 to 3 days.  So we waited it out.

On Sunday, his fever went up again to 39.9.  The whole day he was crying and acting listless.  His breathing still seemed labored to me.  His mucous thickened even more and there are already traces of blood in his mucous, probably because the sticky phlegm has caused bleeding in his sinuses.

So I called the doctor once more and he prescribed Advil on top of the usual medicine because his fever wasn’t getting lower even though he is taking fever medication.  

Did you know that a healthy baby takes an average of 30 to 40 breaths in a minute?  If the baby takes more than 60 breaths per minute that means they are having difficulty breathing and should get checked.

I didn’t know that.

But when I  was feeling anxious about Baby S breathing I kept researching online.  When I found out a tangible way to check whether I should be concerned, I started counting.

I counted multiple times and got a range of 54 to 57 breaths per minute…. 

I told the doctor his breathing rate and he finally told me to go to the ER and get Baby evaluated.    

Am I glad we did because when we got there, Baby was diagnosed with a bacterial infection that led to mild pneumonia.  He needed antibiotics and nebulization every 6 hours on top of the fever and cold medication.  

After 1 round of nebulizing, Baby S was immediately visibly better and he fell into a deep sleep.

To all mothers out there who are unsure about whether or not it is time to start worrying….  TRUST YOUR GUT.  

You know if there’s something wrong because you know your baby best.  Even if you just had a check up, a baby’s condition can deteriorate  quickly.   And don’t be shy to text your doctor if you feel anxious so you can better decide if you’re being paranoid or there’s a cause for concern.

Even if you were over-reacting, who cares.  Better to be safe than sorry right?

 

 

Leave a Reply

