There’s a Volcano in the Garage


In my quest to find interesting stuff for me and my kids to do together (See previous blog ), we embarked on a 3-day project that I’ve always wanted to do and was sad our schools here in the Philippines doesn’t do.  We set out to make a volcano.

My goal was to make a volcano with lava and everything.  Since the internet was filled with how-to’s of the project, we were all set.

I gave my kids different jobs.  Daughter C‘s job was to cut the box with me and she was in charge of the glue.  Son A‘s job was to crumple newspapers and cut newspapers into strips.  My job was to make sure  they didn’t make too much of a mess and formed a cone of sorts.

It came out like this:

There's a Volcano in the Garage

Okay, okay… it was not quite the Mayon Volcano-esque cone I was imagining but it was workable.  Turns out it’s harder to work with crumpled old newspapers than I thought.  The kids were very excited about it though so we put it someplace people wouldn’t trample over it and let the glue dry.

Day 2:

I told the kids to paint, paint, paint. Whatever they wanted their volcano to look like was fine with me.  I wasn’t going to get involved.  I took out paintbrushes and poster paints, globbed some paint into a paint tray (my daughter refused to use their brushes directly in the paint jars because she didn’t want to mix colors), filled up a plastic container for water we set aside specifically for painting projects and left them to their own devices.  My job was to clean up afterwards.  (My nails turned into different shades of color after I cleaned that paint tray!)

(photo)

The kids had a lot of fun painting their volcano.  They talked to each other to agree how they wanted it to look.  They were so proud of it.  They felt they worked really hard on it and was very happy at how it turned out.  This is their masterpiece.  

I told them we needed to let it dry for a bit before we can proceed any further.

On day 3, we were ready to make our little volcano spew a little.  I read the information on the project and I knew the fake volcano is not the explosive kind.  There are two ways to make explosions and I chose this way, the slow and viscous type because I felt the other type of chemical reaction was more explosive and it is interesting enough to do seperately — preferably outside our gate — and doesn’t need to use the volcano prop we prepared.  

 

The kids did all the prepping of our volcano.

 

And finally, they were ready to add the final ingredient that will cause the chemical reaction – Vinegar!

(Photos)
The both took turns loading and reloading and reloading our little volcano over and over again.  They were dumbstruck watching the outpour of bubbles and water from the “crater”.  We actually finished an entire plastic packet of vinegar before the kids would stop.  I promised we could “refuel” our volcano for another run tomorrow.  

It kept them busy for a good hour.  And they want to do it again tomorrow.

It was totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

